Skip to content

Dawn, Deception, and Doorways: The Shadow Rising Kindle Editions

  • by
  • 7 min read
The Shadow Rising paperback, December 2019 mass-market edition from Tor Books. The cover has the snake-wheel symbol on a dark blue background.

A new song is metaphorically found in The Shadow Rising Kindle Edition. This fourth book in Robert Jordan’s acclaimed series, is a melody of epic fantasy. As the Wheel of Time turns, we go on transformative journeys through uncharted realms. Mounting dangers and extraordinary discoveries combine and set the stage for a captivating adventure that exhilarates from start to finish.

The Shadow Rising explores a world on the brink of change, where shadows stretch, and hope comes with the dawn. From Rand’s deepening struggle with destiny and power to young heroes confronting their pasts and futures, the novel weaves a story rich in complexity and character growth. The Shadow Rising is a whirlwind of blistering adventure, filled with unexpected twists and dramatic climaxes. Prepare to be mesmerized!

The Kindle edition brings the expansive world of The Wheel of Time to your fingertips, offering an unparalleled immersive reading experience. I’ll tease plot points with a bullet point overview, stoke hype with a publisher’s synopsis, and guide you through acquiring this compelling novel for your reading device.

Books on a shadowy gray background. Gray and white typography reads, “The Wheel of Time Book 4: The Shadow Rising Kindle Edition.”

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. I may receive a small commission if you buy through this article’s links. For more details, please refer to my affiliate disclosure.

A Journey of Intrigue and Revelation

The Shadow Rising is a tapestry of interwoven destinies and unfolding mysteries. Join me as I trace the paths of the main characters through a world brimming with danger and discovery:

  • Rand’s journey to the mysterious Aiel Waste, a land of harsh beauty and ancient customs, is more than a quest for answers; it’s a rite of passage that challenges his very identity, pushing him towards a destiny foretold in prophecy.
  • Mat’s search for truth results in a perilous encounter and reveals memories that are as daunting as they are enlightening.
  • Perrin returns to the Two Rivers, only to find it under threat. Here, he must confront external dangers and his internal struggle, balancing his human nature with the wolf spirit within.
  • Elayne and Nynaeve’s pursuit of the Black Ajah leads them to Tanchico, where they encounter a labyrinth of danger and deception, with the balance of power hanging precariously in their hands.
  • Egwene’s journey takes her to the Aiel, where she begins training as a Dreamwalker under the guidance of the Wise One Amys, revealing layers of the world unseen by most.
  • The White Tower, once a bastion of order and power, faces its own upheaval, revealing depths of intrigue and betrayal that will send ripples across the world.

Padan Fain hopes to snare the Dragon Reborn by causing mayhem in his village, and the Forsaken are still watching Rand al’Thor no matter how far away he moves. The Shadow’s reach has no limits, and it’s no wonder The Shadow Rising is the most popular book in the series. The novel is not just a story; it’s an experience that resonates with the timeless themes of light versus darkness, choice versus destiny, and the enduring power of hope and courage.

File Size for The Shadow Rising Kindle Editions

Orbit’s Kindle edition is 5,721 kilobytes, while the Tor Books version is slightly larger at 8,838 kilobytes. The file sizes speak to the extensive world-building and elaborate descriptions that are hallmarks of Robert Jordan’s work. Each kilobyte is packed with the magic and intrigue of The Wheel of Time.

The e-book format not only ensures easy access and portability but also retains the rich detail of the original work.

Publisher’s Synopsis for The Shadow Rising

Enjoy this captivating publisher’s synopsis, translated for your convenience from the German paperback edition of The Shadow Rising, titled Der Schatten Erhebt Sich (The Shadow Rises), published by Piper in October 2020.

“Rand al’Thor carries a lot of weight with his destiny, as he is the legendary “Dragon Reborn” who is supposed to lead the forces of light against the Dark One. He desperately seeks support – and finally finds it among the Aiel, the Dragon’s warriors. Together, they face the dreaded Shadow Warriors.”

Discover Der Schatten Erhebt Sich on Amazon through the link provided. Don’t forget to check out my disclosure below for more details.

Buy The Shadow Rising Kindle Edition at Amazon

Unlock the magic of The Shadow Rising, knowing both Kindle editions are available without Digital Rights Management (DRM) applied. This means you can enjoy the book on multiple devices without restriction – a freedom fitting for the epic scope of The Wheel of Time series.

Follow my links to the Amazon store that serves your location. I’ve provided direct links for purchasing The Shadow Rising Kindle editions in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands, and Australia. Rest assured, both editions offer the same captivating story content in English.

Tor Books Edition

The Tor Books Kindle edition features the cover from their mass-market paperback published in 2019.

The Shadow Rising paperback, December 2019 mass-market edition from Tor Books. The cover has the snake-wheel symbol on a dark blue background.

Embark on your journey with this edition by downloading it at Amazon in these countries:

Orbit Edition

Alternatively, opt for the Orbit Kindle edition, which uses the cover from their new series of paperbacks, published in 2021.

The Shadow Rising paperback, Orbit's September 2021 edition. The cover depicts dark clouds hanging over a rocky desert.

This edition is available for download at Amazon in the following countries:

Discover Every Facet of The Shadow Rising

While the journey through The Shadow Rising Kindle edition offers a unique and convenient way to experience this epic tale, remember that the adventure doesn’t stop there. The Shadow Rising is also available in various formats to suit every reader’s preference, and The Shining Walls has comprehensive articles for each:




Kindle Edition [you are here]

I hope this guide has illuminated your path to finding the perfect version of The Shadow Rising. Please let me know in the comments below if there’s anything else you’re curious about or if you have thoughts to share. Your insights and experiences enrich our journey through Robert Jordan’s incredible world.

As we part ways, remember that the Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills. Until our paths cross again in the saga of The Wheel of Time, may the Light illuminate your way and guide you through the wonders and mysteries of The Shadow Rising Kindle Edition.

Until next time, may the Light shine on you, my friends!


Books on a red background. Red and white typography reads “The Wheel of Time Book 5: The Fires of Heaven Kindle Edition.”
Smoking coals and silohouette of a boy reading. Link to "The Complete Wheel of Time e-Book and Kindle Editions" post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share to...